Non-Resident Member Award

Nominations Sought for NYSBA Non-Resident Member Award:
Deadline for submission:: Monday, November 28, 2016

In recognition of the increasing impact non-resident members of the New York State Bar Association are having in the Association, the NYSBA is soliciting nominations for the “NYSBA Non-Resident Member Award.” Currently, approximately 30% of the Association’s members are non-resident members. This includes members from all U.S. states and territories outside the state of New York, plus over 4,500 members from 120 non-U.S. countries.

New York State Bar Association Non-resident members who have made outstanding contributions through service in the Association’s House of Delegates or on NYSBA sections and committees are eligible for consideration for this award. To further qualify, a nominee must be admitted to practice in the highest court of a State, Commonwealth, Territory, Possession or the District of Columbia. 

Candidates would be sought from all NYSBA sections and committees, including the Membership Committee Subcommittee on Non-Resident Membership, and members of the House of Delegates. The Association’s Annual Award Committee will review the nominations, consult with the Membership Committee Subcommittee on Non-Resident Membership and make a recommendation to the Executive Committee for its approval.

Past Recipients:
2013: Claudia O. Torrey, Esq., chair, NYSBA Non-Resident Members sub-committee, NYSBA Committee on Membership
2012: Rajpattie Persaud-Billette, Esq. (posthumous), past chair, NYSBA’s Lawyer Referral and Information Service Committee

Nominations need to include:
1. Two letters of support for the candidate, detailing the nominee’s contributions to the NYSBA;
2. A biography of the nominee, citing NYSBA committee and/or section memberships; and
3. Contact information of person making the nomination.

Deadline: Monday, November 28, 2016

Forward all submissions to:
Patricia K. Wood, CAE, NYSBA
One Elk Street, Albany, NY 12207; [email protected]  518-487-5570