David S. Caplan Award for Meritorious Service

The Business Law Section of the New York State Bar Association, in order to recognize the importance and value to the Business Law Section of the many hours of volunteer service provided to the Section and its Committees by its members, establishes the David S. Caplan Award for Meritorious Service. The award is named in honor of Mr. Caplan, former Chair of the Technology and Venture Law Committee, who, despite his personal physical challenges, was always willing to volunteer his time, his effort, and his ideas for the benefit of the Section.

The Caplan Award will be presented annually at the Annual Meeting of the Business Law Section held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the New York State Bar Association. The recipient of the award shall be selected by a committee consisting of the three most immediate past chairs of the Section, with the person who was the Chair three years earlier being the chair the Committee. If any such member of the Committee is unable or unwilling to serve, the Chair of the Section, in consultation with the other executive officers of the Section, shall select an alternate member of the Committee for that year, and if required, designate the Committee Chair.

An announcement requesting nominees shall be published in the summer or the fall edition of the Section’s Business Law Journal. Members of the Section’s Executive Committee will also be invited to submit nominees. The Committee shall seek to finalize the selection of the recipient no later than November 15th each year. The recipient shall be presented with an appropriate plaque at the Annual Meeting. A list of all award recipients shall be included on the Section’s website and an announcement identifying the award recipient shall be included in the Business Law Journal.

The Executive Officers of the Section are authorized to take such other action as they deem appropriate to publicize the nomination process and the identity of the recipient of the award.

Contact: [email protected]

2019 Honoree:

Stuart B. Newman, Esq.
Offit Kurman, Attorneys at Law
New York, NY

Past Award Recipients:

2018 - Bruce J. Baker, Esq.
2017 - Paul H. Silverman, Esq.
2016 - Frederick G. Attea, Esq.
2015 - Samuel F. Abernethy, Esq.
2014 - David L. Glass, Esq.