Phil Cowan Memorial Scholarship

The Phil Cowan Memorial Scholarship (PC Scholarship), established in memory of former EASL Section Chair Phil Cowan, sponsors an annual writing competition open to law students in all accredited law school throughout New York State, along with Rutgers and Seton Hall, as well as a number of other law schools on a rotating basis throughout the United States.

Students are invited to submit a paper addressing a legal issue in any of entertainment law, art law, sports law or copyright law. Two winning papers are chosen annually. The authors of the winning papers are each awarded a Scholarship and the winning papers are published the Entertainment, Arts and Sports Law Journal of the NYSBA. The Scholarship Committee, which reads and selects the winning papers, is composed of an array of members from EASL’s Executive Committee.