January 21, 2020: U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Elena Kagan to Receive New York State Bar Association Gold Medal Award

United States Supreme Court Associate Justice Elena Kagan will be presented with the Gold Medal Award of the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) at a gala dinner at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City on Thursday, January 30.

The event will feature a conversation between Associate Justice Kagan and Professor of Law John Q. Barrett of St. John’s University School of Law.

The event will take place:

Thursday, January 30
7:15 p.m.
American Museum of Natural History
200 Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY  10024

Interested media please note the following:
  • Media space is limited for this event and media credentials will be assigned on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • Media wishing to cover the event MUST pre-register by emailing Barb Mahan, [email protected] or calling 518-487-5653 no later than Thursday, January 23 at 4 p.m.
  • In order to complete pre-registration, media attendees MUST provide the name, email and mobile phone number of personnel planning to cover the event.
  • Media who have not pre-registered will not be admitted to the event.

The Gold Medal, the highest honor bestowed by NYSBA, is awarded each year to a lawyer whose qualifications include outstanding legal accomplishments, an active interest in and positive influence upon the profession, and constructive contributions in civic and community matters.

The Gold Medal Award will be presented to Justice Kagan at NYSBA’s gala dinner. The gala dinner had been an annual NYSBA tradition since 1877 but was discontinued in 1995, and this year marks the return of the event. The dinner is part of NYSBA’s Annual Meeting in New York City January 27 through 31.

Justice Kagan is the tenth Supreme Court justice to receive NYSBA’s Gold Medal award. Other high court recipients include: Sandra Day O’Connor (2008), Ruth Bader Ginsburg (1995), William J. Brennan, Jr. (1993), Lewis F. Powell, Jr. (1989), Potter Stewart (1984), Thurgood Marshall (1976), John Marshall Harlan (1966), Felix Frankfurter (1961) and Robert H. Jackson (1954).

About the New York State Bar Association
The New York State Bar Association is the largest voluntary state bar association in the nation. Since 1876, NYSBA has helped shape the development of law, educated and informed the legal profession and the public, and championed the rights of New Yorkers through advocacy and guidance in our communities.


Contact: Dan Weiller
[email protected]