January 3, 2019: State Bar Honors Four Attorneys for Professionalism, Commitment to Environment and Excellence in General Practice

The Committee on Attorney Professionalism of the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) will recognize Peter J. Strauss of New York (Pierro, Connor & Strauss) with the NYSBA Award for Attorney Professionalism at the House of Delegates dinner on January 17, during NYSBA’s Annual Meeting.

Strauss has practiced trusts & estate law since 1961 and currently serves on the executive committee of the Elder Law and Special Needs Section. The award honors professionalism, defined as a, dedication to service to clients and a commitment to promoting respect for the legal system in pursuit of justice and the public good, characterized by exemplary ethical conduct, competence, good judgement, integrity, and civility.

Peggy M. Shepard of New York, co-founder and executive director of WE ACT for Environmental Justice, will receive the 2019 Environmental and Energy Law Section award on Friday, January 18. Shepard, a long-time activist in West Harlem, has been a pioneer for advancing the perspective of environmental justice in urban communities to ensure that the entitlement of clean air, water and soil extends to all people and communities.

“This award is given in recognition of her longstanding and distinguished leadership of WE ACT and her advocacy and championship of environmental justice on behalf of America's urban communities,” said Marla E. Wieder, chair of the Environmental and Energy Law Section.  “Her efforts have been instrumental in ensuring that all people, no matter what their socio-economic status, receive the benefits of programs and initiatives to improve our environment."

Richard A. Klass, Esq. of Brooklyn (Law Office of Richard A. Klass, Esq.) will receive the General Practice Section Award, which recognizes a person who has contributed time and expertise to improve the daily practice for law and general practitioners in New York State, with a strong dedication to the profession.  Klass practices primarily in commercial litigation, debt collection and enforcements of judgements, legal malpractice, and real estate litigation. He is the former chair of the General Practice Section and co-editor of the NYSBA General Practice Section ‘One on One’ publication. 

Francis X. Carroll, Esq. of New York, will receive the Real Property Law Section Professionalism Award, which honors a person possessing an outstanding level of legal ability and achievement, civility and appreciation for others in his practice, while mentoring younger attorneys. Currently the senior underwriting counsel for Fidelity National group of title insurers, Carroll is a longtime NYSBA member who has been a panelist at hundreds of CLE seminars on real estate and title insurance topics. 

Honoring attorneys who render extraordinary service to the public and the profession is part of NYSBA’s Annual Meeting, which each January attracts thousands of lawyers from around the state, the nation and the world. They come to meet and connect with their colleagues, and to learn from the experts in many areas of the law. 

NYSBA’s 142nd Annual Meeting January 14-18 explores of current issues in the law with a presidential summit on January 16 that looks at the #MeToo movement, wrongful prosecutions and whistleblower laws. Speakers at other programs during the week includes former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara; New York State Solicitor General Barbara Underwood, who recently served as the state’s first female Attorney General; Internal Revenue Service Commissioner Charles Rettig; Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr.; State Assembly Health Committee Chair Richard Gottfried; and Court of Appeals Chief Judge Janet DiFiore.

For more information on NYSBA’s Annual Meeting, click here

Contact: Brendan Kennedy
[email protected]